2012 Red Cloud Indian Art Show winners

The 44th annual Red Cloud Indian Art Show opened at the Heritage Center on June 3, and has featured what is by all accounts an exceptional collection of work.

The 2012 show includes 178 pieces from 81 different Native American artists from all around the country, all offered for sale. This year, over $7000 in prizes were awarded in 24 different categories.

The winners are as follows:

Merit Awards

Division I - Painting:

LorriAnn Two Bulls – Suddenly Burst in On

Nelson Chasing Hawk – Rebecca

Division II - Drawing:

Leroy Janis – Farewell Traditions, Farewell to Love

Nelson Chasing Hawk - Rebecca

Division III - Graphics:

Gordon Coons –Kayeri Akweks – Before Clans 2

Division IV - Photography / Computer Generated:

Sina Bear Eagle – American Pastime

Nathan Blindman – Only the Earth and Sky Last Forever

Division V - Mixed Media:

Gale Running Wolf – The Paint

Micah Wesley – Forgive Us Our Trespasses, Part III

Division VI – Three Dimensional:

Marty Two Bulls – Mamma

Nathan Bordeaux – Ina

Division VII - Contemporary or Traditional Cultural Items:

Memory Rose PoniCappo – She Prays

Janet Smith – Daksi Akehega (Yellow Turtles)


Special Awards

Br. CM Simon, SJ Award: for artwork to be used in publications in the following year's show:

Wade Patton – Quilt Square I & II

The Joëlle and Nicolas Rostkowski Award: for the best abstract painting:

Jennifer White – Contemplation

Diederich Award: for young artist whose work shows the greatest improvement:

Michael Two Bulls

Diederich Award: for the best depiction of a traditional Lakota:

Angela Babby – Google Penrose

Diederich Landscape Award: for the Black Hills / Badlands, no human figures:

Wade Patton – Scenic

Diederich Landscape Award: for lakes, mountains, prairies, no human figures:

Jackie Sevier – Cottonwoods

Savage / Zuern Award: most innovative use of traditional methods and techniques:

Kaulouyah Mauni Looking Horse – Honoring the Warrior Spirit

The Bonnie Erickson Award: for the best representation of children:

Diana Hudson – Traditional Doll

The Francis Hornikel Award: for artwork depicting the best sense of humor:

Roger Broer – Grandmas in Tutus

The Aplan Award: for the outstanding young artist:

Bryan Parker

In Honor of Jim Gillihan Award: for the realistic rendering of a Native American on horseback:

Barbara Gerard-Mitchell – River Crossing

Oscar Howe Memorial Award: for the most cutting edge artwork:

Danny McCoy – The Pretentious Companion

Allan and Joyce Niederman Award: for the most traditional painting:

Nelson Chasing Hawk – Francis Cutt

The Powers Award: for the best representation of Native American women:

Nathan Bordeaux – Ina

Tony Begay Memorial Award: most explicit development of an Native American theme:

Angela Babby – Summa Cum Laude

The Bill and Sue Hensler Award: for the traditional representation in sculpture:

Cornell Reddest – Mato – The Protector

The ML Woodard Award: for the painting, drawing/sketch depicting the most developed Native American theme:

Henry Payer – One Last Shot then Hotchkiss Me