Announcing the 2015 Annual Red Cloud Indian Art Show Award Winners

posted June 10th, 2015

Tatanka's Dream by Bryan D. Parker, winner of the Br. CM Simon, SJ Award, artwork to be use for publicity for the following year’s show.

The Red Cloud Indian Art Show is a juried competition, awarding over $7,000 in prizes in 24 different categories. It is our pleasure to announce those winners:  

Merit Awards

Division I - Painting

1) Isaiah Stewart - Maste Win
2) Nelson Chasing Hawk - The Prayer

Division II - Drawing

1) Jackie Sevier - River Bend
2) Dwayne Wilcox - Getting out of this Country

Division III - Graphics 

1) Roger Broer - Of a Different Mind
2) Carmen Selam - Girl Fight

Division IV - Photography / Computer Generated

1) Tom Swift Bird - Badlands Starscape
2) Sina Bear Eagle - Sideshow

Division V - MIxed Media

1) Angela Babby - Bring the People
2) James Star Comes Out & Keith BraveHeart - Sung San Glihunni 

Division VI -Three Dimensional

1) Mike Two Bulls/ Doug Two Bulls/Molina Jo Parker - Buffalo Bull
2) Dwayne Wilcox - Boogie Fever Par-Tay Hat

Division VII- Contemporary or Traditional Cultural Items

1) Sandra Wescott-Gauthier - Iroquois Raised Bead Yoke and Cuffs Set
2) Jacinthe Two Bulls - Prisms of Perception

Special Awards

Br. CM Simon, SJ Award artwork to be use for publicity for the following year’s show

Bryan D. Parker - Tatanka's Dream

The Joëlle and Nicolas Rostkowski Award for the best abstract painting 

Reuben Iron Horse-Kent - Coyote Thoughts Dragonfly Dreams

Diederich Award for young artist whose work shows the greatest improvement 

April Holder

Diederich Award for the best depiction of a traditional Lakota 

Bryan D Parker - Red Shirt

Diederich Landscape Award for the Black Hills / Badlands, no human figures $250

Galen LaRoche - Mahipa Thanka Hermosa

Diederich Landscape Award for lakes, mountains, prairies, no human figures

Wade Patton - Cloudy Day

Savage / Zuern Award most innovative use of traditional methods and techniques

 Lauren Good Day Giago - Our Ancestors Prayers

The Bonnie Erickson Award for the best representation of children 

Isaiah Stewart - Maste Win

The Francis Hornikel Award for artwork depicting the best sense of humor 

Jacinthe Two Bulls - Four Deformed Frogs

The Aplan Award for outstanding young artist

Jimi La Pointe

In Honor of Jim Gillihan Award for the realistic rendering of a Native American on horseback

 Gayle Running Wolf - Blackfeet Painted Horse

Oscar Howe Memorial Award for the best abstract painting 

Bryan D. Parker - Tatanka’s Dream

Allan and Joyce Niederman Award for the most traditional painting K. Mauni

Lookin Horse - Huhapi Wilachala Win

The Powers Award for the best representation of Native American women 

Evans Flammond - Native Elegance

Tony Begay Memorial Award most explicit development of a Native American theme 

Bryan D. Parker - Subjugation

The Bill and Sue Hensler Award for traditional representation in sculpture

 Cecil Apple - Elk Dancer

The ML Woodard Award for the painting, drawing/sketch depicting the most developed Native American theme

 Sam Horse Chief Jr - Wolf Stole Lightnings Whirlwind of Star People

The show is completely free and open to the public six days a week, with free daily tours offered of The Heritage Center and Red Cloud Indian School’s historic grounds. For more information visit, call The Heritage Center at 605.867.8257, or e-mail:


   The 47th Annual Red Cloud Indian Art Show Opens!

Read Red Cloud Country and see Don Montileaux's thoughts
on why he become a long-time contributor
to the Art Show for 46 years

 Check out last years Artist Profile on Dwayne Wilcox